«

»

Jul 10

Flashback Interview: MJ Summers on the Success of Break in Two

mj summers

This interview was conducted in 2015 with one of the biggest names in romance and erotica. MJ Summers first hit the big time with her giant hit novel “Break in Two,” and followed her success with “Breaking Love,” “Don’t Let Go,” and the recently released “Breaking Clear.” Enjoy this interview for the second time and get yourself ready for vacation with a bit of Summers.

How do you feel about the success of “Break in Two,” looking back? You must be so proud of that novel.

I am still in awe of what happened with Break in Two when I look back at last year, and knowing it’s now on shelves all over Canada and the UK. Every trip I make to our major book seller, Chapters, or to the grocery store or pharmacy, I stop to look at my books and grin to myself. I really am proud, but more than that, I’m so very grateful for all of the people who have been a part of it and have taken a chance on it.

Then there’s your new novel “Breaking Love.” How have reviews been for that book so far?

Breaking Love has been very well-received so far, even earning a nod from Kirkus Reviews last month. Kirkus was the nerve-wracking one for me, and when it came in, it was cause for celebration around our house. I couldn’t be more pleased.

Would you ever allow the “Full Hearts” series to become a series of movies or would you prefer they stayed as books?

To me, that’s like asking a marathon runner if they’d like to medal at the Olympics. I would be absolutely thrilled to see the series in film. To hear the words spoken, watch the story come to life and listen to music that would accompany it, I can’t imagine much better than that.

Do you have any favourite authors at the moment? Is there anyone you can see becoming the new MJ Summers?

I’ve had no time to read for pleasure in quite a while, but I do have a few authors on the top of my list as soon as I do have a chance. Jennifer Sage, Bella Andre and Aly Martinez, to name a few. Once I finish writing this series, I plan to take a few months off to just read.

The new MJ Summers. That question made me snort-laugh. I’m no Nora Roberts!

You are a keen blogger these days. How did that come about?

A lot of my blogging is about keeping romance alive. I think it’s come about because I honestly want people to be happy and have all that delicious romance that I write about in their real lives. My husband and I are so in love still. Even after twenty-two years (fourteen years of marriage), we both can never seem to get enough of each other. The funny thing is we both work from home, but we stay up ridiculously late every night so we can have more time together. I wish that kind of love for everyone.

How do you pace yourself with such a heavy schedule? Do you keep a schedule at hand? A PA? How do you cope?

It’s insanity here a lot of the time. I probably need a PA but so far have had no time to hire/train someone. I put things into my Outlook calendar most of the time. I also have a series of to-do lists on post-it notes all over my desk.

Many authors keep saying that “anyone” can write a book. Do you believe that’s true? Can anyone write a book?

I think everyone has a story to tell. And everyone has a story that only he or she can tell. Writing is like any other endeavour—the more you work on it and learn about it, the better you can become. It’s a matter of determination, hard work, and to some extent, fearlessness.

Do you believe books like “Break in Two,” “Breaking Love” and “Don’t Let Go” are taking the stigma out of erotica? Do you believe erotica is becoming mainstream?

To both questions, my answer is I hope so. I think in its own small way, erotica can serve a positive role in the world. Sex done well completes the experience of a love story. It can serve an instructional purpose and help a reader explore his/her own fantasies and preferences, hopefully with less embarrassment around the topic. That type of openness can lead to more satisfying relationships. In my books, it’s about passion and generosity, but it’s also about respect.

What are the three things you couldn’t live without?

1. My family
2. My friends
3. Time to be out in nature

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to do this interview.

You are so welcome!

________________________________________________________________________________________

Looking for your Next BOOK BOYFRIEND? Evan’s here and he’s AMAZING behind closed doors. And on pool tables, in the shower, on secluded picnics…

18+ Contains Explicit Sexual Content

For fans of Samantha Young and Jodi Ellen Malpas comes a classic romance with a side of sizzling seduction by the bestselling author of Break in Two. 

As art director of Style Magazine in Manhattan, Harper Young’s life is glamorous and fast-paced, just the way she likes it. This small town girl has left her roots – and her painful past – a million miles away . . . until one phone call changes everything. It’s time to face her childhood and the man she left behind . . .

When Evan Donovan isn’t on a construction site, he is usually hanging from a cliff somewhere. He’s been dealt a rough hand when it comes to love and now believes in keeping things simple. But when Harper Young drops back into his life, things suddenly get complicated. He resolves to stay away but the pull he feels to her is just too strong. Harper and Evan quickly find themselves in each other’s arms, telling themselves it’s only for now and that soon they’ll go back to their very different lives.

But true love doesn’t exactly play by the rules – before long they’re falling hard and fast. Soon they will have to ask themselves whether they’re brave enough to put it all on the line and fight for their forever . . .

breaking clear cover

 Get Your Copy Today and Head For The Beach!

Leave a Reply